National AGM

41 Club Website Link

To all Club Members of affiliated 41 ClubsThe Annual General Meeting took place on Saturday 1st April in Jersey. The minutes will be uploaded in due course, but here are the main highlights:Board PositionsVice President. This post was contested between Wynn Parry and Don Mullane. Wynn Parry was elected.National Communications and IT Officer. This was uncontested, and David Chard took up post.International Relationships Officer.  This was uncontested, and Kevin Stewart took up post.ResolutionsResolution 1 – Clearer definition of time permitted to speak at AGM. This was proposed by National Council and CARRIED.Resolution 2 – Reordering and restructuring of Rules and Standing Orders. This was proposed by National Council and CARRIED.Resolution 3 – Minor rule changes. This was proposed by National Council and CARRIED.Resolution 4 – Protection for the National President. This was proposed by Isis 41 Club and seconded by Showtime 41 Club. After much mirth and merriment, this was WITHDRAWN.Resolution 5 – Young Ambassador Programme (YAP) Convenor. This was proposed by National Council and CARRIED.Resolution 6 – National Council Meetings in Welsh. This was proposed by Andy Pandy’s 41 Club and seconded by Shipley 41 Club.  An amendment was put forward by Isis 41 Club, seconded by Brackley 41 Club and carried. This became the substantive resolution and to the relief of all concerned, was DEFEATED.Budget 2024The capitation for 2024 as proposed by the National Treasurer was £16 per member. However, an amendment was proposed and seconded from the floor that the amount per member be increased to £20. This amendment was carried, and therefore the capitation amount per member will be £20 as from 1stJanuary 2024.AwardsMalcolm Lockey Award for Community Service – awarded to the group of 41 Clubbers who trekked up Mount Everest to raise funds for Dementia UK. The award was accepted by Rory Tompsett.Vaughan Harris Award – awarded by RTBI for the 41 Club or Club member who has done the most to promote relationships with Round Table. The award was presented by Matt Fallon, RTBI National President, to Rory Tompsett, Alyn & Deeside XRT and Deeside & District 41 Clubs.Golf Trophy Overall Winner -Paul Osborne of Hinckley 41 ClubKiwi Klub Trophy for the Club whose members had travelled the greatest overall distance – Market Harborough 41 Club.Jim Parkes Trophy – awarded to Jason Thomson, of Saffron Walden and Halifax 41 Clubs.Tom Hodges & Victor Michitsch Trophy – to be awarded at Stratford International AGM to Achim Simon, from Germany.David Smith Trophy for Press and Newsletters – presented to Northampton Nene 41 ClubDavid Hewitt Website Award – presented to Shirley Late Knights 41 ClubInternational Photograph Competition – awarded to Colin Wright of Farnborough 41 Club. Runners-up were Ian Campbell of Southend-on-Sea 41 Club and Michael Sadler of Ponteland 41 Club.Terry Cooper Shield – Presented to Steve Tasker – National Councillor Region 11.Association Award – presented to Mark House, Honorary Webmaster.Ian Kelso Award for most entertaining speaker – Jim Smith, of Bishops Stortford and Eastern Promise 41 Clubs.The meeting was also recorded for the benefit of those who were unable to watch the livestream. The link to the recording of the meeting is here

Yours in Continued Friendship and Continued Tabling

Bernard Elwen

National Secretary

The Association of Ex-Round Tablers’ Clubs (41 Club)

Link to Prostate Cancer UK
Link to Prostate Cancer UK

Buddyline – 03301 07 07 40

Phone a 41 Club Friend

If you are lonely or just need to talk, call us

There for you from 10am – 10pm, 7 Days a Week

Buddyline Logo

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s